Opera Web Browser


Speed4.64.64.64.64.6
Features4.544.544.544.544.54
Security4.654.654.654.654.65
Ease of Use4.594.594.594.594.59
Support4.364.364.364.364.36

In today’s world, with viruses, worms, and hackers all trying to get at our personal and sensitive data, it’s more important than ever to do whatever we can to protect ourselves. And despite the constant patches, fixes, and upgrades, Internet Explorer has shown itself to be too easy to become infected or hacked. So how do you protect yourself in this sort of environment? The answer is Opera.

Opera is the best internet browser on the market and was developed by the Opera Software Company and first released in 1996, so it’s not a newcomer to the industry. It’s also free to download and install and runs on gaming systems, Smartphones, and PDAs. Opera is known by its twenty million users as the fastest and safest internet browser on the market.

Opera has always been a leader in innovations and safety. For example, tabbed browsing, which allows the user to have a single window with multiple tabbed sub-windows was introduced in Opera in 2000, whereas Internet Explorer didn’t release it until version 7 in 2006. Another great advance in Opera is called mouse gestures. This feature combines mouse movements with on screen prompts to quickly operate many functions. For instance, to page back the user would hold down the right mouse button and move the mouse to the left. The mouse prompt would then change to a back arrow, and when the user releases the button, they would page back.

Opera also includes standard browser features such as page zooming – the ability to zoom a page to different sized for easy viewing. Its download manager allows the user to quickly manage file downloads from the internet. It has a built in email client that let’s the user handle daily email requirements without needing a standalone program or relying on some of the public, free email sites that are known for spam and virus problems.

Also unlike the OS dependent Internet Explorer, Opera operates on a wide variety of operating systems, including Windows, Mac, Linux, and Solaris. In addition, versions of Opera are available for mobile phones and PDAs using the Symbian, Windows Mobile, or Java ME operating systems. About forty million mobile phones come shipped with Opera already installed and ready to go. It is also the only web browser compatible with the Nintendo DS and Wii gaming systems.

Independent speed tests have shown Opera to be faster than Firefox and Safari, and infinitely faster than Internet Explorer 7. One exciting feature that helps in the speed department is its Speed Dial function. This allows the user to add up to nine links that are displayed automatically on a page when a new tab is opened. This keeps your “favorites” even more accessible. As you know, there are truly a handful of pages you visit more than all others, so why not have them always at hand on your speed dial. Another handy feature is the Trash Can which allows you to instantly reopen closed tabs. Never go fumbling through a cumbersome “history” list again.

Opera also excels at computer accessibility features. As innovative as the mouse gestures are for people who prefer not to or are physically unable to easily use a keyboard, Opera also supports a full set of keyboard shortcuts. In fact, the user can control virtually every aspect of the program using only the keyboard if they desire. The page zooming feature allows easier viewing for the visually impaired, and IBM’s voice control technology is also built in.

Security is one of the main reasons for choosing a web browser and in this department, Opera also exceeds expectations. It has built in phishing and malware protection and superior encryption on secure web sites. Operations that are overly complicated on other browsers, such as deleting private information and cookies, are handled with the click of a button. Automatic site checking algorithms are built in to warn the user if they are visiting a black listed or dangerous site. Saving passwords, which is a convenient but dangerous practice is protected in Opera by using a master password. According to an independent computer security expert, average unpatched security flaws in Opera over the last year is .01 compared to 38 in Internet Explorer or 5.77 in Firefox.

If you move between different computers, say work and home, Opera has a feature called Opera Link that allows you to quickly synch up your bookmarks, Speed Dial, and other saved data between these devices, even with your mobile phone. And speaking of history, Opera doesn’t just remember what pages you have been to, it remembers the content. If you need to get back to a recent page that had some great piece of information, you no longer have to scroll through history trying to find it, just use Opera’s Quick Find feature.

RSS feeds are becoming more and more popular, but bookmarking or subscribing to a feed only to find it’s not what you are looking for is time consuming. Use Opera’s Feed Preview to see a feed before you subscribe. Searching is also improved in Opera. If you need to do a search for information, just start typing the address bar. No need to clutter up the menu with a separate search window and address window, Opera does both in one handy location.

Let’s face it, in today’s computing environment, the internet browser is the most important and often used piece of software we have. Rather than just accepting what came with the computer, shouldn’t you have the fastest, safest, most customizable browser with the most innovative features on the market? Download and install the best internet browser. Get Opera today and start surfing the net like it should be.



Reviews (60)

AJ

April 29th, 2009 at 5:32 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

Safari is without a doubt one of the hottest browsers today. My personal favorite :)

~AJ


MARK

April 29th, 2009 at 5:38 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

Opera is my choice :)


Busalonium

June 19th, 2009 at 10:01 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Opera is an amazing browser, I only discovered Opera recently. I’ve been using IE for a while, I had downloaded firefox because everyone said it was brilliant, I found it overrated. Just for the sake of trying out chrome I downloaded chrome and considered making a switch, for the sake of being fair I also downloaded Safari but hated it.
I wasn’t really keen on any of them untill I looked at the wikipedia article on internet browsers and found out about Opera, as soon as I downloaded it I knew it was the greatest browser ever.
It is an awfully underrated browser and from personal experience with all the five main browsers I would rate Opera as the winner by a huge amount.


R35P3CT

June 30th, 2009 at 10:12 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

Opera far most the best, fastest, secure etc… web browser you can found out there!!!


Vinay

July 18th, 2009 at 10:02 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

opera is ddddddd bst luvd it mmuaahhhhhh


vibin

August 14th, 2009 at 6:16 AM    


Speed55555
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

one thing i obsvd is…… it is verrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrry faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaast


Rdx_Blast

August 16th, 2009 at 2:58 PM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

Opera is no doubt the best browser ever made. Fastest, safest and easiest to use. I don’t how people overrate firefox. It is faster than IE but not the fastest. Opera is the fastest browser.


Sean

September 10th, 2009 at 10:21 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

I have never had a single problem with Opera. It has everything i want in a small package. With the mouse gestures etc, browsing has never been so quick and easy! :D


kirsty

September 13th, 2009 at 11:47 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

idoo like opera i only got it last week but allready its my favourtie :)


Vahid

October 15th, 2009 at 6:41 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

The best Internet browser. The best.


sami

October 17th, 2009 at 9:33 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

the best Internet browser in the world full of features & ease to use and more


r414

October 21st, 2009 at 7:26 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Simply the best Internet experience! :D


Leon

November 1st, 2009 at 6:08 PM    


Speed44444
Features33333
Security44444
Ease of Use44444
Support44444

Opera’s pretty good, but it lacks support for CSS3. Not much faster than other browsers.


Slick

November 4th, 2009 at 4:19 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use44444
Support55555

I like opera and use it for my on-line banking for its 100% safe and sureness. To me it really is a tie between Opera and Mozilla. I hate with a passion IE it is just horrible with pop-ups etc… also don’t use Safari it is in the same league as IE with Windows based systems.


John

November 6th, 2009 at 8:05 AM    


Speed11111
Features11111
Security11111
Ease of Use11111
Support11111

Nahh not for me


nbnbn

November 8th, 2009 at 5:37 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

opera is my favorite im using it right now!!! and it has opera turbo like it has incresing speed!!! i give it 5 stars and two dhumbs up for my opinon


NSS

November 18th, 2009 at 3:58 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Opera is very fast and it has many features. So it has become my favorite browser after using IE, Mozilla and Chrome.


Lars

December 30th, 2009 at 12:28 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Opera is by far the best of the major browsers.


vikrant

December 31st, 2009 at 12:12 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

it,s the world BEST BROWSER in every way…


Alperen

January 1st, 2010 at 11:57 AM    


Speed55555
Features44444
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

I have tried ALL internet browsers to date and opera is by far the best out there. its speed, its safety, and its reliability are unmatched. Opera has NEVER failed on me, EVER. You cannot personolize it as much as you can with Firefox, but it still is a lot better Firefox.


Ovee

January 9th, 2010 at 3:36 PM    


Speed55555
Features44444
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

I think opera is the best browser \o/


PRAJEET MEWR

January 22nd, 2010 at 9:39 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

AFTER USING I.E-7,I.E-8,MODZILLA FIREFOX-3.5, AND NOW USING OPERA-10,I FOUND OPERA THE BEST,FASTEST,MOST SECURED AND HAVING MAXIMUM FEATURES TO BROWSE-HATS OFF TO OPERA TEAM FOR THIS SUPERB PRODUCT AND FOR FREE


HI!

January 24th, 2010 at 4:37 AM    


Speed22222
Features55555
Security44444
Ease of Use44444
Support33333

Speed fails, but all else is good! Features are simply amazing!


kpn

February 9th, 2010 at 9:44 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Opera, my favorite nickname… To me OPERA is a best for a web browser. I know it after IE since IE (first) and have been still using it with another browsers as well. I would say it is my long and last web browser.


LostPropjet lololol

February 11th, 2010 at 10:47 PM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

I like opera but sometimes gets annoying. I rather use Firefox but its starting to go wrong so Iam looking for a browser… Hope I find a good one.


Sami Alkhammash

February 18th, 2010 at 6:12 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

I have used too many different Internet browser too many, under too many different OS’s…Opera is the best on all these different OS’s…I have opera mini installed in my blackberry…its simply the best browser on earth till today..


Aj@i

February 20th, 2010 at 7:04 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

World’s best bro.
just believe me i am the topper anyway.


That1kid

February 27th, 2010 at 2:31 AM    


Speed44444
Features33333
Security44444
Ease of Use33333
Support33333

soooooooooo
i almost thought of switching
to Opera after a minor
Google Chrome phase
(Google sucks by the way)
anyways I heard Opera
had voice commands
but then I found out wit was
only for XP users. =[
so when it get’s support for windows 7
i have a feeling it’ll be my new default


opera 1244

March 18th, 2010 at 3:57 PM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

it`s faster browser but it has a problem on pictures,that it`s making me crazy
I thing opera is the best browser but it should fix problems with pictures.


Gwen

March 19th, 2010 at 9:03 PM    


Speed44444
Features55555
Security44444
Ease of Use55555
Support33333

I found the interface nice, and fairly easy, and it was fairly fast. My second favorite browser, tied with Safari, Chrome taking first place.


Vishal

March 31st, 2010 at 1:40 PM    


Speed33333
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

It is good! but Sometimes it gets stuck off on some websites and delay in response.


Buddhika

April 10th, 2010 at 2:57 PM    


Speed44444
Features44444
Security33333
Ease of Use33333
Support33333

I have tried it and I realised that chrome is faster, easier and user friendly. If you try Chrome for few days, You will never use Opera again.


Mike

April 13th, 2010 at 5:51 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

Wow how can HI say that the speed fails where as everyone else says that it is super fast? Something wrong. And also read Johns review it said “NAH NOT FOR ME” and he put 1 star for every category. John you are just waisting everybodys time and trying to deceive the GENUINE people who are ACTUALLY LOOKING FOR A DECENT WEB BROWSER. Your comment is the only one which gives 1 star for each. and everyone else is not complaing they say that its the best browseR Which means you are trying to WASTE OUR TIME AND DECEIVE US.

And Anyway Why does Buddhika say that Chrome is faster and other people say that Opera is faster and then some reviews say that Firefox is faster. Please Just STOP trying to deceive everybody else who is generally SEEKING for a web browser. We have not got time for people who are deceived themselves with web browsers. And honestly have nothing better to do then to try and deceive everybody else as well.

PERSONAL ADVICE: A WEB BROWSER AT THE END OF THE DAY IS A WEB BROWSER, YOU USE IT TO SEARCH THE INTERNET, EMAIL WHATEVER. THERE IS REALLY NO NEED TO KEEP ON SWITCHING WEB BROWSERS BECUASE OF SOME STUPID REASON LIKE SPEED, COME ON PEOPLE NOT EVERYTHING IN THIS WORLD WORKS THE WAY I WANT IT TO.. IF IM WAITING FOR A BUS I HAVE TO WAIT, I HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE RIGHT WIFE, I HAVE TO WAIT TO PASS MY EXAMS AND GRADUATE, I HAVE TO WAIT FOR FOOD. YOU SEE NOT EVERYING IS FAST FAST FAST. IF THE BROWSER IS NOT SUPER FAST SO WHAT!!!! WHY WOULD YOU WAISTE TIME CHANGING AND CHANGING BROWSERS. JUST STICK WITH ONE BROWSER AND USE IT FOR WHAT YOU ARE GOING TO USE IT FOR, AND IM SURE THAT THAT IS NOT SPEED.


Michael R

May 3rd, 2010 at 9:49 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

Opera is #1 in my book


Hemanth

May 4th, 2010 at 10:36 PM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

Safari is THE BEST


Federico

May 26th, 2010 at 8:53 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Now , I’m downloading opera . I been use mozilla firefox since last 4 years . I read
the comment , most of you said opera is the best internet browser ever :D


Mica

June 11th, 2010 at 9:06 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Opera has always been fast opening pages & now it beats Chrome in the benchmarks as well.
http://clients.futuremark.com/peacekeeper/results.action?key=3jQW
The fastest browser with the most features & best User interface.


OMG

June 12th, 2010 at 11:48 PM    


Speed44444
Features44444
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

NO OFFENNSE TO OPERA FANS OUT THERE , but the truth is that either google chrome or safari are the best. i dont like chrome as it doens’t have a favourites tab. opera is OK, i guess… BUT safari owns them all!!!!! Speed, functions support and security are very good. however, since safari was for macs and not for windows, some people may find it hard to use. when the compact version of safari comes out, i bet that it’ll be at the top!!!!!!!!!!!!1


Micah

June 16th, 2010 at 9:13 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Opera 10.6 is very fast opening pages,
I have been using Opera for 10 years & its always been quick but in the last 6 months its gone supersonic Chrome & Firefox seem slow in comparison & in my opinion Opera is the best looking browser out there.


John

July 5th, 2010 at 5:19 AM    


Speed11111
Features11111
Security11111
Ease of Use22222
Support11111

I had huge prooblems with it


jhane

July 18th, 2010 at 9:22 PM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

safari is hard to download!!


sagar

August 10th, 2010 at 1:02 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

opera rocks !!!


nate

August 18th, 2010 at 6:11 PM    


Speed55555
Features44444
Security55555
Ease of Use44444
Support33333

hey mike calm down. no one cares what you think anyway. and with that ill leave a pointless comment. shazam


Shane

August 23rd, 2010 at 10:56 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

A lot of people will say some browsers suck mainly because they haven’t tried it.
I first used Opera when I found Opera 9.2 was the fastest in browser benchmarks.
In June 2008 I started using Firefox 3 and I thought that was faster.
In September 2008 I used Chrome which I thought was even faster.
When Opera 10 was released I thought that was the best browser to date.
And now at Opera 10.61 it truly is the best browser in the world. :)


Bryan

September 20th, 2010 at 10:14 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

i first downloaded opera on my mobile and like it so downloaded the desktop version 10.6,very happy i did, Its secure for online shopping,
No more sweating when using ie. if your a sheep get firefox, if you want the best browser get opera 10.6.


scare crow

October 1st, 2010 at 6:34 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

I have been using Opera for a few years now. Its is much better than IE and Firefox. When Firefox released its newest upgrade, running on Windows 7 made it run very slow. I have had no problem with Opera.


Vishal

October 2nd, 2010 at 11:13 AM    


Speed55555
Features44444
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

My favourite, best browser wid speed dials, tabs, gestures, password wand and fast surfing in addition to excellent start up time


Anonymous

November 2nd, 2010 at 3:22 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

we all talking about speed..but what is speed is all about.I used opera,then change to FF,but now return to opera.You guys just try download a few songs from a sites and see for yourself.For FF you need to click for every song before you can starts the others,but in opera just click all the songs you want to,and wait it all to finished.All you need to do is,watching the proggress bar,if you want to..hehehe.Its not about all the benchmark testmumbo jumbo,but more on end users experiences.No heart feeling & cheers to all..


A Person

November 30th, 2010 at 12:20 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
SupportNot Rated

It was surprising learning that Internet Explorer was not thought of as the best browser around.
I’ve tried the others, and for some reason never liked Firefox, Safari lacked features, and chrome may be fast, but it seems weaker in other aspects.
I love opera, it seems to has amazing features which are easily usable, and can be conformed to suit your needs. Also it’s fast, secure – what’s not to like?
Don’t stick with the more popular options, try Opera. :)


Me

December 10th, 2010 at 4:11 PM    


Speed55555
Features44444
Security44444
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

Opera on my opinion is much better than Internet explorer the speed is shocking on opera


faridfox

December 18th, 2010 at 1:38 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Opera 11 is out now! the best and the fastest browser on earth.


Steven Booker

January 18th, 2011 at 12:37 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use33333
Support44444

I’ve been using opera for about 1 year now my main gripe is Website incompatibility, and the huge amount of option’s & features you have may intimidate some user’s who just want a basic browser, but once you get used to it, you will love opera for it’s speed, customizable appearance, and it has one of the best rated security of all the browsers. Go on give it ago you may be surprised.


fersolution

January 20th, 2011 at 12:45 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

http://clients.futuremark.com/peacekeeper/results.action?key=55tl

do the test urself…opera roocks! period!!


Omnicrono

March 25th, 2011 at 8:38 PM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

Correction – Chrome is widely considered the “fastest.”


mov

April 8th, 2011 at 4:24 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

opera is the best browser


joshua niesler

May 3rd, 2011 at 12:34 AM    


Speed44444
Features33333
Security44444
Ease of Use33333
Support22222

I like opera but it just can’t bet Google Chrome


Gaurav Johri

August 15th, 2011 at 3:38 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Worlds Fastest and Safest Browser


Satyendra

August 15th, 2011 at 3:39 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Worlds No1 Browser with Much more faster than Google Chrome.


phantons

September 11th, 2011 at 6:07 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Opera is just simple and effective


ajay

December 7th, 2011 at 11:40 PM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

Bolt ,safari is nice but opera is very nice




Leave a reply

Speed
Features
Security
Ease of Use
Support

Your Name? *