Firefox Web Browser


Speed3.983.983.983.983.98
Features4.324.324.324.324.32
Security4.264.264.264.264.26
Ease of Use4.314.314.314.314.31
Support4.024.024.024.024.02

There are many players in the internet browser war, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Safari, and Opera among them. While Internet Explorer has been the dominant browser for years, Firefox is quickly gaining popularity and just recently, surpassed Internet Explorer as the most popular web browser in Europe. With the release of version 3.0 late last June, Firefox has reached the level of being a legitimate web browser choice rather than just a cute little toy for alternative software hobbyists. So, what’s to love about Firefox 3.0? Plenty!

First off, and this is a big one, Firefox is built using the Mozilla developed Gecko layout engine. This engine is becoming wildly popular for browsers, email applications, and web authoring tools because of its well known stability and licensing. Gecko is free and open source software, leading the way in developing world wide standards for the Web. As these standards are being developed, Firefox is on the front lines adding new features and add-ons.

One of the most popular features of Firefox is their tabbed browsing. Individual websites can be opened in new tabs instead of the old method of new windows. Of course, those who prefer new windows still have that option, but tabbed browsing lends to a more efficient and seamless browsing experience. The tabs can be configured to change the order in which they are displayed, automatically switch to a new tab just opened, and warn when multiple tabs are being closed. Tabs can even be saved at the end of a session so that they are automatically opened at the start of a new session.

Like most browsers, Firefox has a “find” feature which allows users a way to search for specific text on a web page. But unlike the others, the Firefox “find” interface isn’t an annoying pop-up window that gets in the way of the page. Instead, it is a small search bar that appears at the bottom of the window. Firefox begins to scan with the very first letter entered into the dialogue box without actually scrolling down the window. And something else that’s really helpful: as a word is typed into the search box, the box remains white until a letter that doesn’t appear in that string is entered. At that point the box turns red and the user knows the text string can’t be found in the page. No need to go any further. How cool is that?

For those who work with web based applications, or the general user just typing comments into a text box, Firefox 3.0 includes an integrated spell checker. It works as you go so you’ll immediately know when a word is misspelled. The drag and drop element also makes working a bit easier, allowing you to drag text or links directly into the integrated search bar. Add to that the ability to add notes to web pages for future reference, and you have a browser that takes productivity to a new level.

Bookmarking is easy and intuitive, and the new bookmark organization tool is a vast improvement over previous versions. It now works just like a file manager with drag and drop, in-line editing, and sorting. Menus can be customized and organized with ease, bookmark names can be changed, and extra descriptions and details can be included. Some of the management features, like adding a new folder or deleting an unwanted, can even be done without opening the organization tool.

Fans of customization will be thrilled with the thousands of add-ons available for Firefox. Yes, there are plenty of skins and themes to apply to GUI, but the available add-ons go well beyond just that. There are RSS feeds, blogging tools, and weather applets. There are tools that make digital imaging and multimedia tasks easier and more intuitive, including a YouTube link that appears in search engine results. Clicking the link will play the video without having to open a new tab or window. Social networking is brought to the next level with add-ons that organize your networking locations into a single sidebar and allow customization of your Facebook page.

And the list goes on and on.

Worried about security? Firefox has that covered too with tools to protect against viruses, phishing, spyware, and malware. The standard pop-up blocker works flawlessly and allows for user customization of individual pop-ups. In addition, there’s a small icon on the left side of the location bar which can be clicked to instantly display security information about the current site. With the click of a mouse you can know whether or not you’re in a risky place. If you’re navigating to a site that’s already a well known risk, Firefox will display a security warning forcing you to choose to continue, a nice feature that helps users avoid security accidents.

Vulnerability to security threats is always a concern, but Mozilla works aggressively on that front too. According to a regular review by Symantec, Firefox’s vulnerabilities are patched, on average, within one day of the exploit code being made available. Internet Explorer on the other hand, has an average patch time of nine days. This gives Firefox a major advantage in security.

With all these features, and the dozens more not mentioned here, how is Firefox’s performance? Excellent. Its always been a fast and stable browser, but version 3.0 is the fastest of them all and it’s noticeable. Moving from page to page or between tabs goes quickly while at the same time being very intuitive and natural. The interface is clean and easy to navigate but can be customized to suit individual preferences. Private data can be cleared at the end of a session with a simple mouse click, so future users can’t follow where you’ve been.

Overall Firefox is a great browser worthy of consideration. It’s a free download available for Windows, Mac, Linux, and many Unix-like systems, so there’s no reason not to try it. Go get a copy…. you’ll be pleasantly surprised.



Reviews (77)

Jarred

April 29th, 2009 at 5:38 AM    


Speed44444
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

Firefox without a doubt #1


John

May 6th, 2009 at 7:33 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

Firefox is without a doubt the best browser out there. Lightyears ahead of IE in features, speed, functions, security etc. The others are pretty good too, anything but IE… but with all the extras I’d say Firefox is #1.

Why was IE even listed? LOL


Liam

May 15th, 2009 at 8:01 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

I like Firefox. But I don’t like its built in DM. Anyway, best there is!


rachit

May 28th, 2009 at 5:28 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

fire fox is best!!!!!


Busalonium

June 19th, 2009 at 10:44 AM    


Speed33333
Features33333
Security33333
Ease of Use22222
Support55555

I find Firefox overrated. In most areas it performs the same as Internet Explorer, ironic considering the amount of time Firefox users spend bashing Internet Explorer.
It’s supposed to block pop-ups but I still get some pop-ups using it.
It’s layout isn’t a eye-pleasing as most of the others, but at least it doesn’t draw much attention.
Some of it’s add-ons are a positive aspect, but mostly they are useless and just make it run a lot slower.
Overall, my fourth favourite browser, maybe if I learnt my way around it better I might put it above IE, but certainly not above Opera or Chrome.


Anonymous

June 26th, 2009 at 9:50 AM    


Speed44444
Features55555
Security44444
Ease of Use44444
Support44444

GREAT


anonymous

July 27th, 2009 at 2:22 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Awesome i have been using it for like… 6 months and it is fast.


Anonymous

July 28th, 2009 at 12:58 PM    


Speed44444
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

The only category Chrome beats Firefox in is speed. For everything else, Firefox is superior.


Kishan

September 3rd, 2009 at 5:04 PM    


Speed44444
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

For me firefox is best, in chrome it work good with google and its related site. Many times it create problem with other web pages.

but in firefox there is no such problem.

Firefox is best.


Mondoogle Boogle

September 12th, 2009 at 12:07 PM    


Speed44444
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support33333

Hmmm, Ive had firefox and was sick to death of youtube and even ebay not responding.. Must be a problem on firefoxs part as it work on IE.

Then tried Flock.. The same..Still does it to this day.. Not tried Chrome as i dont like the sound of it.

meh..

Might try it again..


kirsty

September 13th, 2009 at 11:49 AM    


Speed33333
Features11111
Security33333
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

not very fast


Cal

September 30th, 2009 at 9:45 PM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

Dont get me wrong i like firefox but it crashes A LOT!!! Its very annoying


Anonymous

October 11th, 2009 at 6:48 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Best browser ever!


bhargav

October 16th, 2009 at 6:52 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

very good


hahno

October 18th, 2009 at 5:41 PM    


Speed11111
Features22222
Security11111
Ease of Use33333
Support11111

firefox sucks


Leon

November 1st, 2009 at 6:07 PM    


Speed44444
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

FireFox is probably the best browser on the market – especially with it’s CSS3 and HTML5 support.

Speed can be improved a little though.


Slick

November 4th, 2009 at 4:16 AM    


Speed44444
Features55555
Security44444
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Used Chrome.. works good with google related stuff. Opera…my second choice it is faster, but the easy to use interface and all of Mozilla is my perfect browser.


Micah

November 9th, 2009 at 8:22 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

THE BEST
i use it all the time and rarely find issues with if and when i do a simple add-on can fix it all
FIREFOX RULES


Junior

November 12th, 2009 at 4:36 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use11111
Support11111

crashes every now and then

Stupid firefox crashes when i try to open some links…if i am in the middle of downloading any file then all my effort is screwed and i have to start over again..it really sucks..the earlier versions were the best


Maradona

November 24th, 2009 at 6:33 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

ive been using Firefox for more than a year now. and im very satisfied with it. never had a problem with anything. my opinion….. its #1.


Aman

November 26th, 2009 at 1:53 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

For me firefox give best performance when it comes to speed


Subota

December 16th, 2009 at 1:48 PM    


Speed22222
Features33333
Security44444
Ease of Use22222
Support22222

On my system (XP) it crashes all the time. I am not happy with it and am looking for a different browser.


Rico

December 23rd, 2009 at 4:00 PM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

That’s why I’m reading these reviews, I’m sick to death of Firefox crashing. I’ll give opera a bash.


brian

December 29th, 2009 at 11:15 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

crash party, and a lot of hang time. thats all i can say. its a little bit close to the IE. speed is fine not close to chrome, add-ons sucks big time, pretty safe. all in all—- it OVERATED


PRASANNA

December 31st, 2009 at 3:07 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

I FOUNT IT TO BE THE MOST SECURED


Ovee

January 9th, 2010 at 3:44 PM    


Speed33333
Features44444
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

My first choice is Opera and Firefox is my 2nd favorite browser.


sashi

January 18th, 2010 at 5:45 AM    


Speed44444
Features44444
Security44444
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

its easy to use..and the security settings are gud. but its slow at the starting. addons are useless though not of much use..the problem arises when i am using it for internet banking and many of the banks prefer IE strangely.I have been using it for over a couple of years now. Its by far the best i have come across. cheers. waiting for a better one.


HI!

January 24th, 2010 at 4:38 AM    


Speed44444
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Hmm, speed is awesome, but not that much on startup. Still the best browser, with Chrome in second, but Mozilla better watch out for Google!
TONS of features, amazing security, easy, and has MOZILLA backing itself. Can’t get much better than this!


Volcano high

January 27th, 2010 at 12:51 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security44444
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Firefox is the definitely the best web browser in the world
perfect and beauty theme with various of add on + plug in


JLD

February 3rd, 2010 at 4:35 PM    


Speed44444
Features33333
Security44444
Ease of Use44444
Support33333

Do NOT love the quickfind feature. Have gone to great lengths to shut it off, and it keeps re-appearing. Just want to use apostrophe’s now and again!


its not stable...

February 15th, 2010 at 10:02 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

i used for ages, but have to say that opera is better


surya

March 11th, 2010 at 4:09 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Using this since it migrated from original mozilla and simply love the way it has evolved. it made the browsing simple, reliable and worth surfing. the best part is, its free since its birth. come to crash problem in some versions but with stable versions it is the best in my view.


Buddhika

April 10th, 2010 at 2:47 PM    


Speed33333
Features55555
Security33333
Ease of Use22222
Support22222

I loved and used Firefox for about three years. Now I use chrome instead. If you use chrome for few days, you will never come back to Firefox just for browsing. I still use firefox occasionally when I need to download large files with the help of DownThemAll plug in as there are no similar plugging in Chrome.


Alberto

April 18th, 2010 at 11:06 AM    


Speed44444
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use44444
Support33333

i think Safari is the best


stefan

April 20th, 2010 at 7:33 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

trust me i have used both opera and firefox. opera just bashes firefox in everyway. mozilla is way too overrated….
opera all the way


Anonymous

May 3rd, 2010 at 7:10 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

it is completly personalizeable and fast


Dwayne

May 16th, 2010 at 9:22 PM    


Speed44444
Features44444
Security44444
Ease of Use44444
Support33333

Been with this browser for the best part of a year untill recently it started crashing on me :\ , without a doubt it is a very stable browser but i must say its pop up control is worse if not the same as ie .. Useless , it’ll say its prevented a few pop ups but then some still come which is annoying ! Recommend this for any gamer its safe fast , and if you tell someone you use firefox they won’t complain unlike if you were to tell then you use ie XD


Adlia

May 26th, 2010 at 8:50 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

I love firefox the most . Everything is perfect 😀


nas

June 1st, 2010 at 6:37 AM    


Speed22222
Features44444
Security55555
Ease of Use44444
Support44444

i dunno why my IE is fastest than mozilla huh???? but IE always crash..i hate that…mozilla is too slow…i need other browsers


Micah

June 16th, 2010 at 9:38 AM    


Speed33333
Features44444
Security44444
Ease of Use33333
Support44444

Firefox is an ideal browser if you love spending lots of time playing with extensions to bring it up to date.
I like that it has color management of photos.
Slower than Chrome or Opera but looks very dated .
Looking forward to Firefox 4 coming out this year which promises big changes.


Anonymous

July 5th, 2010 at 5:13 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security44444
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

Ive used firefox for ever. Its only slow if you have bad internet connection so dont put comment on like its not very fast and its depends on how many virusus you have


Anonymous

July 5th, 2010 at 5:17 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security44444
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Its better to keep the old version of it. It still works perfectly with me. I get much less viruses now


Farhan

July 11th, 2010 at 1:24 PM    


Speed33333
Features22222
Security44444
Ease of Use33333
Support33333

I found it good but many tyms it dispays page load error about 50 prcnt of my browsing session….Internet xplorer is my 1st fav and then opera nd then firefox!!


Rich

August 8th, 2010 at 6:24 AM    


Speed22222
Features55555
Security44444
Ease of Use44444
Support22222

Firefox is generally okay but I’ve been having a lot of problems with it being quite slow and crashing web pages a lot. I think it’s almost as bad as Internet Explorer in terms of the frustration felt when it just won’t work


ankur

August 12th, 2010 at 12:21 AM    


Speed55555
Features44444
Security44444
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

this browser really works gud …..although little bit of conventional sort of interface..but its working gud for me and i m satisfied user..


Pradeep

August 23rd, 2010 at 6:22 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

The Best!!!!!!!!!


jako

September 8th, 2010 at 8:27 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

i was using internet explorer, and found it clogging, freezing up despite regular scans and clean ups .then a friend recommended firefox ……WOW ,FASTER THAN A SPEEDING BULLET….AND SUPERMAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Anonymous

September 11th, 2010 at 9:13 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

HAHAHHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FIREFOX IS AWESOME….PERIOD!


ChromeLovurr

September 12th, 2010 at 9:03 AM    


Speed11111
Features11111
Security11111
Ease of Use11111
Support11111

I hate Mozilla. It keeps crashing and it loads too slow. -.-
I prefer Google Chrome. Seriously you people should go download Chrome, it works wonders. :-)


Damian

September 15th, 2010 at 12:07 AM    


Speed22222
Features55555
Security33333
Ease of Use22222
Support33333

I would say This is a Power Hungry Browser.
Don’t Really Recommend this browser to people who multi-task, it EATS MEMORY.


STFU

September 25th, 2010 at 4:42 PM    


Speed33333
Features44444
Security44444
Ease of Use33333
Support44444

_I_


Roger

September 28th, 2010 at 3:25 PM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

I have been a fan of Firefox ever since I heard about it. I also have Google Chrome and both of these fine web browsers are great. These two web browsers make surfing the internet great I even use them on the search engine msn and they work excellently.
I have as my old standby Windows Internet Explorer 7 or which is commonly called Windows Internet Explorer provided by Yahoo. I use IE 7 when I can use the others. I use it when I need to and only on rare websites.
Believe me Firefox and Google Chrome are the only web browsers I use and need.


Anonymous

November 16th, 2010 at 12:29 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

firefox 3.6 good

firefox 4.0 beta 7 amazing


Anonymous

November 16th, 2010 at 12:31 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

firefox 3.6 good

firefox 4.0 beta 7 amazing

firefox 4.o the best browser on this planet


abanti emmanuel

November 21st, 2010 at 4:38 PM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

internet explorer is simply awesome.i love the speed and its ease of use.It is number one browser!


Speed

December 18th, 2010 at 6:03 PM    


Speed33333
Features44444
Security55555
Ease of Use44444
Support44444

The one thing I care about most of all is speed. Firefox is fast; Chrome is faster. Security’s important too but as long as its fast and safe, I don’t care about anything else.


Sayed

January 14th, 2011 at 10:32 PM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

Firefox is the best internet browser I like it.


Annonymous

January 15th, 2011 at 4:00 AM    


Speed44444
Features33333
Security55555
Ease of Use33333
Support33333

Firefox is good and the only browser i use but im thinking of trying opera or chrome.


Firefox LOVER

January 19th, 2011 at 3:00 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

No doubt it’s firefox


jam

January 19th, 2011 at 3:00 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

it’s best one available now


Sophie Crawford

January 31st, 2011 at 7:08 PM    


Speed44444
Features33333
Security44444
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

It’s better than INternet Explorer, as it is much quicker and you have much more screen space! You can also add your own theme which makes it better than Internet Explorer too :) It’s good, but Google Chrome & Safari 4 are much better :)


Mino Oz

February 6th, 2011 at 12:27 PM    


Speed11111
Features44444
Security22222
Ease of Use44444
Support22222

Firefox is the worst and slowest after they included “Plug-in Container” … It used to be fast and great, but not anymore// it sucks to say goodbye to firefox, but I had to choose whats best for me .


AGOODCRITIC

March 16th, 2011 at 8:03 AM    


Speed44444
Features55555
Security44444
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

well,i also use chrome with firefox as my backup browser but i daresay it ever crashes
Needs some speed though


Trust Me

March 27th, 2011 at 12:13 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

It is the Best…….you’ll have to know to use it it feel the awesomeness :)


Moiz Bhukhiya

March 27th, 2011 at 3:08 AM    


Speed44444
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

BEST BROWSER EVER….
function is_firefox_best(){
return true;
}


meh

March 28th, 2011 at 7:17 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

I just ognt the latest version
ITS THE BEST
I have never had firefox crash
so I say this
GET FIREFOX VERSION 4.0


nforce3

April 6th, 2011 at 6:47 PM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

simplement the best 😉


Dan

April 8th, 2011 at 6:08 PM    


Speed44444
Features22222
Security33333
Ease of Use22222
Support22222

Piece of crap. Can you save a picture in Internet (you know right button)? NO.
Can you browse back and forth 4-5 steps at the time like in Explorer instead step by step? NO.
Can you convert any page in Internet to a PDF file like I do with the Explorer? NO. Etcetera. I uninstall it after 1 day.
Thank you.


joshua niesler

May 3rd, 2011 at 12:11 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

I hate firefox i have installed it about 15 times and it still never opens and has yellow lines all over the page!! i installed firefox just a few minutes ago and like allways yellow lines all all-over the page!!!!
I use Google Chrome and i love it is great!! it has a great download manager, it looks great!!!But the only bad thing about Google Chrome is that you can’t get toolbars!!!, I still love Chrome it will allways my my favourite


joshua niesler

May 3rd, 2011 at 12:14 AM    


Speed33333
Features33333
Security22222
Ease of Use44444
Support11111

Sorry i didn’t see the star thing this is how i rate firefox.


kno no one

May 26th, 2011 at 6:57 PM    


Speed44444
Features44444
Security44444
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

INTERNET EXPLORER HAS ALWAYS BEEN CRAP. FIREFOX IS THE BEST.


Frank Woods

June 1st, 2011 at 11:46 PM    


SpeedNot Rated
Features33333
Security11111
Ease of UseNot Rated
Support55555

Many Content Founded At This Browser Include Search Engine


Josh The Geek

August 15th, 2011 at 11:31 AM    


Speed44444
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support44444

Best browser ever!!!


Anonymous

October 26th, 2011 at 9:31 AM    


Speed55555
Features55555
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Love It it’s perfect!!!!!


tori101

February 27th, 2013 at 7:42 PM    


Speed44444
Features55555
Security44444
Ease of Use55555
Support33333

Firefox is amazing but Google is my fave to so hard to pick LOVE FIREFOX ALOT MORE THOUGH!!!!!!


Mya

July 29th, 2013 at 2:29 PM    


Speed55555
Features44444
Security55555
Ease of Use55555
Support55555

Great Opera is better.


yasiru disanayaka

July 31st, 2013 at 10:11 AM    


SpeedNot Rated
FeaturesNot Rated
SecurityNot Rated
Ease of UseNot Rated
SupportNot Rated

fire fox is fastest web browser………yes@




Leave a reply

Speed
Features
Security
Ease of Use
Support

Your Name? *